Træstammer

by Milou

It was a beautiful day for a long walk. I have to say that until now the danish winter is not bad at all, but everybody keeps saying that this is the warmest they have had in a long time. And of course: everything can change quickly, we are only in the beginning of January! So the sun was shining (even though shy and briefly) and Jonas and I walked from my place towards Christiania. I made some pictures with my iPhone, not the best quality (especially when it gets darker) but this one of the Dronning Louises Bridge gives an idea of the clear day that it was.

Image

We also made a brief stop at Christiansborg, just because I’m such a fan of the series “Borgen” and I never actually went inside the yard to have a better and closer look: it’s absolutely impressive seen from so close by. We arrived at Christiania and were totally up for some coffee, we entered this bar called Månefiskeren, which is a nice high ceiling café with a relaxed atmosphere and funny signs on the wall (like “For a brighter day put drugs away”). We had a cup of coffee and split a træstammer. This is a danish sweet which looks a lot like the romkugler. The shape is that of a treelog covered with marzipan and the tops dipped in chocolate ganache. Inside it’s the same kind of texture as the romkugler: chocolate left over cake and rum. It’s really perfect after a long walk outside (and knowing you also need to walk back!)

Image

I found the recipe on a blog called “My Danish Kitchen”, you can find it here. Hope you don’t mind me posting it.

Have a great weekend you all!

